Spectator

router does not assign IPV6 address

I am reporting a problem that has persisted for a few months. For a long time, both IPV4 and IPV6 worked perfectly on my home network: Arris router, Window 10 Professional on wired connection, Apple Macbook Pro (wireless), 2 iphones, network printer (wired), smart TV  (wireless). Then , one day, IPV6 stopped working on the WIndows machine. I studied the problem and discovered:

1) The router had an external IPV6 address, as it should.

2) My windows machine did not have an IPV6 address. I did not test the other devices.

3) I could force the assignment of an IPV6 address by typing 'ipconfig /renew6' at an admin command line.

4) When the DHCP lease expires, no new IPV6 address is assigned.

My work-around is to set a long lease period in the router, and type the magic command when needed. But this is ridiculous, and my wife can't do it.

--
Hi to all my friends at NSA
9 REPLIES
Spectator

Re: router does not assign IPV6 address

This is a follow-up by the original author.

After doing ipconfig /renew6, my windows box IPV6 address reported by ipconfig is the same as my WAN IPV6 logged by my hosted server on Hurricane Electric ...

Looks to me (I'm a dummy) like there is no NAT for IPV6.  I didn't set anything to any kind of DMZ , so I don't understand.

--
Expert

what modem are you using... What router? some have issues

Spectator

I have a combined modem and router and telephone interface.

Arris DG1670A
[ I think. Can I confirm this by logging in?
It's not convenient to read labels now. ]

Utilities page says:

hardware version 6
firmware version 9.1.103J5
bootcode version 2.20.27

Hope I transcribed all this right.

--
Expert

It would have to be a 1672 to have phone...

There were issues with those when trying to run phone and IPv6 and they were replaced with the technicolor all in ones...