Rookie

KC Area - 300 Ultimate Internet speeds?

Hi all, first post.  I have the Ultimate 300 internet package from TWC (now Spectrum I guess), and wanted to confirm that i have everything set up to maximize my speeds.  I own my router - NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 C7000.  I have a Roku 3 hardwired to the router, and have also run Cat6 to another room in the house where another Roku will be attached to it.  Since getting the service about a year ago, I have done all speed tests wirelessly on my phone and have maxed out at about 150 mbps, with a low of around 20 mbps.  I'm not too worried about WiFi speeds, as I don't really have any issues there.  I know those will fluctuate.

However, after running the ethernet upstairs, I did a speed test on my work computer to test the connection.  I pulled about 35 mbps.  Couple of questions, as this is my first time doing any internet wiring myself - is ethernet either on/off where if it works, that's the best it is, or can the quality of my connections within the connector impair the speeds?  Also, this computer must be connected to a VPN - does that effectively cap my available speed because everything has to go through the VPN servers (the computer has a 1 gig ethernet card)?  Finally, this morning I did a speed test on the hardwired Roku for the first time and got about 60 mbps at the highest.  Is this something indicative of my internet speed, or does the Roku 3's processor max it out at about those levels?  If that's all the Roku 3 can process, then I'm totally content.

Basically, I'm just trying to determine if there's a problem with my service or connections, or if I'm running into equipment issues.  At the end of the day, I plan on having two Roku's (Roku 3 and Roku Premium +) on the LAN and need to maintain 4K speeds.  But I'm paying for 300, so obviously I'd like to get as close to that as I can.  Thanks everyone.

14 REPLIES
Spectrum Employee

Re: KC Area - 300 Ultimate Internet speeds?

[ Edited ]