Why does my internet keep stopping or slowing to a crawl?

Hi everyone. First off, I'll go ahead and tell you that I'm not a techie, so my knowledge of the industry terminology is probably going to be comical to most of you. I seriously detest calling customer service for any issues, so I'm hoping someone here can offer a simple solution so I won't have to call.