Participant

Dare to post your internet usage?

TWC/Spectrum provides an Internet Usage chart when you log in to your account on their website.

(No prizes for winners)

March: 204 GB

April: 229 GB

May: 180 GB

June: 141 GB

July: 119 GB

12 REPLIES
Established Sharer

Re: Dare to post your internet usage?

I've been recording the TWC/Spectrum reported usage since February 2013, and so far my largest month was 103GB (March 2017).  Most months are between 30 and 50 GB.  My lowest month was July 2014 at 12GB -- but that was the month that TWC didn't fix the corroded connector on my drop line for 15 days.

But think about it for a minute... if you have Spectrum Internet at 60 Mbps down, and you use the full capacity of the service for 4 hours per day downloading <whatever>, you'd hit 3240GB on a 30 day month.  Except that you wouldn't, because the Spectrum/Internet gateways will never allow you to grab a full 60 Mbps down over the long term.

Participant

The Usage Tracker/Usage Details lets you drill-down by day, and even shows hourly usage.

Maybe I'll disconnect my cable modem for a day (or at least a couple of hours) and see if the charts acuurately reflect the zero usage.

Looks like video streaming devices and game consoles are the biggest users.

Established Sharer

Natey2 wrote:

TWC/Spectrum provides an Internet Usage chart when you log in to your account on their website.

(No prizes for winners)

March: 204 GB

April: 229 GB

May: 180 GB

June: 141 GB

July: 119 GB

Out of curiosity, what point are you trying to make?  The usage stats will me meaningless without context.

Participant

[ Edited ]

Just trying to see what everyone else around here is using.

Utility companies (Electricity, Gas, Water, etc) send bills saying things like "... you are using 27% more than similar sized households in your neigborhood ..." etc., with usage charts than span a couple of months.