Occasional Contributor
buchemi1
Accepted Solution

Botnet (Virus) Activity browser message

When I opened Internet Explorer today, I got the following message displace by TWC:

Please be aware that Time Warner Cable has received a report of unwanted Internet activity being

transmitted from a machine connected to the cable modem on your Time Warner Cable Internet connection. 

This violates the Time Warner Cable AUP (Acceptable Use Policy) for your residential account. 

I have checked that all anti-virus and anti-malware software is up to date. The scans revealed no viruses/bots. This week, I have been using the Dynamic DNS setting in the TWC Ubee modem to allow a domain name that I own to resolve to a local computer connected to the modem. I am a developer and do this so I can view the work on my computer away from home. Does running a home server in this way trigger the TWC systems to send a message in the browser as I described? I have never had a problem in the past with this.

Please use plain text.
TWC Employee
MegaMasterX

Re: Botnet (Virus) Activity browser message

In an ongoing effort to snuff out the botnet activity on our network, your DyDNS setting may have triggered this because some botnets forcefully change the DNS settings to modify your network traffic.  You can contact customer service and request to talk to the Security & Abuse department to let them know that you are simply using DyDNS and have them bypass the "modem quarantine" triggered by that. 

Please use plain text.
TWC Employee
SecurityAdvice

Hello buchemi1 and MegaMasterX,

I'm sorry I couldn't respond to this earlier. Unfortunately, MegaMasterX provided some incorrect information.

Your DNS selections (including Dynamic DNS, or using other legitimate DNS sources such as Google) will not trigger a Botnet quarantine. This quarantine triggers because a computer connected to your network has an infection that is part of network of computers controlled by another party unknown to you.