Sharer

Considering a CableCard

I am seeking feedback from people that have used a CableCard and have used the TWCTV app via a Roku or some other means to determine which is a better choice for my purposes. I am considering a change to my existing setup and feedback on my options would be appreciated. My significant other is not very technologically minded so something complicated will not be an option (for her, changing the input source is a hassle). 

This would be for a secondary tv that currently has a non-DVR set top box. I do not use DVR and rarely use On Demand on this tv. I see my options as:

1. Leave as-is with the set top box;
  2. CableCard;
  3. TWCTV app with a Roku;

I see the CableCard as the simplest option and less expensive than buying a Roku (or a Samsung smart tv). My only problem is that I have no experience with the CableCard and I don’t know anybody that has ever used one to pick their brain. My understanding is that I would not need the separate tuner adapter unless I have a specific setup (TIVO for instance). What is the experience like when using a CableCard? Thanks for any suggestions and insight you guys can offer.

7 REPLIES
Expert

Re: Considering a CableCard

The cablecard plugs into something to decrypt QAM

Like a tivo or Cetron which becomes a full featured cable box when a Tuning adapter is added.

It can also be used as "authorization" by TWC to watch TWCTV at home and not plugged into anything.

It's a big unknown what the supposed Spectrum transition will change.

Sharer

So if I'm only using the tv and no TIVO, Ceton, Moxi, etc. does the tuning adapter become necessary for SDV channels? Does the tuning adapter then have it's own remote needed to change channels or does it just passively sit there?

Expert